DEPARTMENT OF **MATHEMATICS**

Women in Mathematics



The purpose of the Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM) is to encourage women and girls to study and to have active careers in the mathematical sciences, and to promote equal opportunity and the equal treatment of women and girls in the mathematical sciences.

The University of Illinois Student Chapter of AWM seeks to further these goals by providing a community for women graduate students through our activities and to assist them in advancing in their careers through professional development opportunities. We also seek to expand the future community of women mathematicians through outreach to local students in grades K-12, as well as the home-schooled community. Our University of Illinois student chapter received the 2018 AWM Student Chapter Award for Community Outreach, awarded by the Association for Women in Mathematics in recognition

ACADEMICS

Actuarial Science

Graduate Program

Prospective students

Guide for Graduate

Students in

Mathematics

Coursework and exams

Funding

Teaching Resources

Women in Mathematics

Calendar

Sonia Math Day

Seminars

Outreach

Travel Funding

Thesis, Graduation,

Careers and Internships

Forms, Guidebooks, Handbooks, Life of our outstanding engagement with the local community by highlighting women in mathematics and demonstrating the power and fascination of mathematics.

Click here to join the AWM mailing list.

Membership is open to all regardless of gender identity or expression, race, color, religion, age, national origin, sexual orientation, or disability.

The views expressed herein do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the Association for Women in Mathematics, the Illinois Department of Mathematics, or the University of Illinois.

Resources

Graduate Students in the News

Our PhD graduates and their jobs

Undergraduate Program

Courses

NetMath Online Courses

Department Convocation

ICTM State Mathematics

Finals

Instructional Awards

EXECUTIVE BOARD 2018-2019

President: Emily Shinkle

Vice President: Jenna Zomback

Secretary: Nik Wojtalewicz

Treasurer: Elizabeth Field

Social Committee Chair: Ran Ji

Academic Committee Chair: Simone Sisneros-Thiry

Outreach Committee Chair: Dana Neidinger

Faculty Advisor: Zoi Rapti